skip to Main Content

Organisational roles

The All-Party Parliamentary Group for Prescribed Drug Dependence (APPG for PDD) has facilitated the creation of this guidance by bringing together key professional bodies representing psychological therapists in the UK with relevant subject matter experts.

The British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy (BACP), British Psychological Society (BPS) and United Kingdom Council for Psychotherapy (UKCP) have collectively funded and steered the creation of the guidance in conjunction with members of the APPG for Prescribed Drug Dependence Secretariat (all members of the Council for Evidence-based Psychiatry (CEP)), and the National Survivor User Network (NSUN). The professional bodies, including in addition the National Counselling Society (NCS), endorse the guidance and will promote it to their members and relevant training organisations.

Core steering group

Dr Anne Guy
Chair & Project Manager, Secretariat APPG for PDD

Dr James Davies
Deputy Chair, Secretariat APPG for PDD

Luke Montagu
Secretariat APPG for PDD

Fiona Ballantine Dykes
Chief Professional Standards Officer, BACP

Dr Naomi Moller
Joint Head of Research, BACP

Suzie O’Neill
Head of Communications, BACP Professor

Sarah Niblock
Chief Executive, UKCP

Jo Watson
UKCP member

Adam Jones
Policy & Advocacy Officer, UKCP

Dr Che Rosebert
Division Clinical Psychology, BPS

Professor Peter Kinderman
Former President, BPS

Dr Lewis Blair
Division of Counselling Psychology, BPS

Dr Esther Cohen-Tovee
Division of Clinical Psychology, BPS

Dr Yetunde Ade-Serrano
Division of Counselling Psychology, BPS

Rachel Dufton
Director of Communication and Engagement, BPS

Stephanie Taylor-King
Communications Co-ordinator, NSUN

Other acknowledgements

The editors are grateful for support from BACP, UKCP and BPS in providing a variety of practical resources to complete the guidance, including access to input from Rum Judy Communications.

The guidance has been developed in conjunction with and reviewed by experts by experience (clients, carers, therapists and campaigners).

The APPG for PDD will distribute the guidance and host a website for this purpose, seeking to make it as widely available as possible both in the UK and, where appropriate, internationally.

The following were officers of the APPG for PDD until November 2019:

Chair: Sir Oliver Letwin MP (Ind)
Co-chair: Sir Norman Lamb (Lib Dem)
Co-chair: Luciana Berger MP (Lib Dem)
Co-chair: Lucy Powell MP (Lab)
Co-chair: Baroness Masham of Ilton
Co-chair: Earl of Sandwich
Co-chair: Baroness Stroud (Con)

This is not an official publication of the House of Commons or the House of Lords. It has not been approved by either House or its committees. All-Party Parliamentary Groups are informal groups of Members of both Houses with a common interest in particular issues. The views expressed in this report are those of the editors and writing team.


Dr Anne Guy (UKCP, BACP, CEP)
Integrative Psychotherapist, APPG for PDD Secretariat Co-ordinator

Dr James Davies (CEP)
Reader in social anthropology and mental health, University of Roehampton, Psychotherapist, APPG for PDD Secretariat

Professor Rosemary Rizq (UKCP, BPS)
Professor of Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy, University of Roehampton

Lead authors (section/s)

Professor Joanna Moncrieff (CEP)
Consultant psychiatrist, Senior Lecturer in Psychiatry, University College London
Sections 2, 4

Professor Rosemary Rizq
Section 3

Professor John Read (BPS, CEP)
Professor of Clinical Psychology, University of East London
Section 5

Dr Anne Guy
Sections 6, 7

Dr James Davies
Section 1

Lead authors (section/s)

Professor Tim Bond (BACP)
Professor Emeritus, Professional ethics, University of Bristol
Section 3

Dr James Davies
Sections 5, 6

Dr Anne Guy
Sections 1, 3

Baylissa Frederick
Psychotherapist with specialist experience of withdrawal
Section 6

Daniel C. Kolubinski (BACP)
Section 6

Luke Montagu (CEP)
APPG for PDD Secreteriat
Sections 5, 6

Dr David Murphy (BPS)
Person-centred/experimental, Associate Professor University of Nottingham
Section 3

Professor Rosemary Rizq
Section 1

Paul Sams
Expert by experience
Section 3

Professor Marcantonio Spada (BPS)
CBT Practitioner, Professor of Addictive Behaviours & Mental Health, London South Bank University
Section 3

Dr Tom Stockmann
General Psychiatry Specialist Registrar
Sections 2, 4

Georgina Whitney
Expert by experience
Section 3

Beverley Crouch (BACP)
Appendix A

Karen Espley
Appendix A

Marion Brown
Psychotherapist (retired)
Appendix A

Thanks are also given to the additional members of the professional bodies, experts by experience, carers, and specialist therapists, who contributed to discussions or provided feedback on drafts of this guidance, including Katrina Ashton, Helen Blythe, Jarka Hinksman, Harry Hogarth, Stevie Lewis, June Lovell, Dede-Kossi Osakonor, Cathy Perry, Andy Ryan, Harry Shapiro (APPG for PDD Secretariat), Robyn Timoclea (Survivor Researcher – Population Health Research Institute, St George’s, University of London) and Mohammed Zaman.

Back To Top